Your browser version is outdated. We recommend that you update your browser to the latest version.


Children learn most effectively when they are enjoying themselves and having fun; this is why we promote ‘Learning through Play’ as children of different ages and stages of development work towards different goals. To ensure we meet the needs of all the children, we work alongside the Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum. The EYFS consists of seven areas of learning.

These areas combine together to make up the skills, knowledge and experiences that babies and children acquire as they grow, learn and develop. The prime areas are Personal, Social and Emotional Development, Physical Development and Communication and Language. These are fundamental because they work together to support development in the other areas. The developmental statements in these areas help practitioners to identify and plan for the children’s individual interests and abilities.



Personal, Social and Emotional Development

    ● This area looks at supporting children to develop a sense of themselves, social skills and respect for others and a positive disposition         to learn.  Children’s emotional well-being also needs to be supported in order to help them understand and manage their feelings         and behaviour.

Physical Development

    ● This area looks at supporting children in using their senses and bodies to explore the world around them and make connections         between new and existing knowledge.  They should have the chance to be active and interact with things to improve their skills of         coordination, control, manipulation and movement.  Children also need to develop an understanding of healthy living practices.

Communication and Language

    ● This area looks at  supporting children’s developing competence in listening and understanding as well as speaking and         communicating  Children should be given opportunities to build these skills and gain confidence to use them in a range of situations.




    ● This area focuses on learning the skills needed for reading and writing.


    ● This area looks at supporting children to develop their understanding of numbers, calculating, shapes, space and measures. 

Understanding the World

    ● This area looks at supporting children in developing the knowledge, skills and understanding to help them make sense of their         world.  They should be able to explore creatures, people, plants and objects and undertake practical ‘experiments.’

Expressive Arts and Design

    ● This area looks at supporting children in developing their creativity by providing a range of opportunities, materials and media in         which to express themselves and use their imaginations.  The children should be encouraged to explore and share their thoughts,         feelings and ideas.